Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new LS1 car

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2013, 06:05 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new LS1 car

Hello all. I finally found a 2002 6 speed z28 camaro. I am pretty new with cars, but I am trying to use this as a learning experience. I have invested a lot into tools which also includes an air compressor. I am trying to pretty much learn from scratch. What I want to know is what would be the best place to start learning. I want to do tasteful mods that wont detract from that cars value, or cause it to run bad and throw SES lights. I was thinking of starting with shocks/springs, but any advice would be great. I want to work towards getting a cam/heads installed, but I lack a tuner in my area (as far as I know) and like I said I am not trying to drive a car with an SES light.
Old 11-25-2013, 06:16 PM
Teching In

You can look all over this website There is a lot of good info. If you Can think of it someone has probaly tried it. There are also books at stores like barn & noble that will help u with the right head and cam packages and how to install them. Also boos on suspension to.
Old 11-25-2013, 07:08 PM
On The Tree

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Post some pics and a little more info on the car.
Old 11-25-2013, 07:25 PM
Staging Lane

new LS1 car-yqjfjx2.jpg

I think it has all SS options, but wasn't an SS from the factory. It has ~70,000 miles. Leather, t-tops, and all power options. The previous owner says it has an SLP intake and an SLP loudmouth 2 catback. Everything else is stock. Clean title and no wrecks. Sorry this is really the only pic I have since I had to drive it right into the garage for storage.

I was thinking of switching to full synthetic oil come spring time. Is that a good idea?
Old 11-25-2013, 07:37 PM
On The Tree

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts