Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advise for engine stroke & cams

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 05:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advise for engine stroke & cams

Hello All,

Name's Nick, I'm new to LS1 Tech, just joined actually. Always been a huge fan of F-Bodies and I am currently a proud owner of a 2002 WS6 A4, its blue on silver. So far, I've done bolt-ons: Intake, full exhaust, headers, Volant air, TB, 373 gears and few other things. After dyno, I'm at 350hp & 340 torque RWHP.

My goal has always been to pass 400HP and torque so, I'm here looking for some advice!

My plan is to stroke the engine to a 383 or higher and go with cams and heads as well. I have a racing built tranny, full BMR suspension, tires & reinforced rear end. My car is built for the torque/HP, I just need to get it.

I'd like to keep the original engine block, so I'd like suggestions on the best route to go as far as engine stroke and cams and heads.
What is the best stroke, size & parts? Best cams? I'm looking for semi-aggressive; it’s a weekend car but still want to cruise around comfortably.

Also, what can I expect in gains and cost? I live in SoCal so if anyone can recommend a good place to have this done would help too!

Thanks in advance and if more info is needed I'll give what I can!
Old 04-24-2014, 06:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

You really can't go beyond a 383 with that motor. Lot's of heads and cam options. Do you have a budget in mind
Old 04-25-2014, 03:32 AM

Budget wise to have it all done, I'm thinking 5-7 g's if possible. Not really sure cost of everything to stroke the engine, do the cams and heads plus all the things needed with them and dyno tune. My goal is to get the car past the 400HP mark so I'm hoping going this route will achieve that. Also, I've seen other posts of people stroking to 402 i think. 383 is fine if it gets me where I want to be. Also if you know any good shops in SoCal to do the work. Thanks again!