Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

stall and rear end question?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2014, 03:31 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question stall and rear end question?

Ok so I'm new to the ls1, I've read as much as I could since I got my car back in June but I need some experienced answers. Here's a little background, I bought a 01 trans am with only 11,613 miles on it almost 4 months ago. It came with borla catback and was lowered. All I've done is koni str.t, lca relocation brackets, and slp lid. The car got driven very little and ended up having a bad lifter (didn't help with how I drive). So instead of saving up and doing it how everyone said in all the posts, I had to go a different route. I'm dropping it off at cbi streetcars in a few weeks. I'm having a 231/239 cam, ls7 lifters, new valve springs, pushrods, TSP headers & catted y-pipe, yank ss 3600 sc, trans cooler, and DSX tuning. My questions are:

1. I only have 2.73s (no money to get new ones), how loose is this stall going to feel, and what lockout speed is good? I'm 90% city driving and it's my dd for the time being.

2. I'm wot a lot and was wondering how the stock 10 bolt is going to hold up with the cam and stall? It has new KDW tires and actually hooks dead from a roll and very little spin from a dig. I'm sure I won't hook after this though.

3. Are the stock 28lb injectors good enough for my mods now? or will I need bigger ones when I eventually get new heads?

Also does anyone have any idea roughly what I can expect in the quarter mile? I haven't ran it at the track, but I have a buddy that has an 07 gt with some mods/gears/tune and runs consistent 13.49-13.54's. We raced 3 times from a dig and I pulled a little over 2 cars on him shutting down at 110-115mph. Sorry for all these questions, I was planning on reading up on all of this before I started modding. Hope this is in the right section, if not can you please move it where it needs to go? Thanks
Old 09-15-2014, 06:42 AM