New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

what cam to run in my lq4 build.

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2016, 05:54 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what cam to run in my lq4 build.

Alright guys well im new to owning ls engines although i have known a good amount about them. as of now im swapping in a lq4 into my single cab stebside bed v6..

i purchased a lq4 for $500 tore apart for inspection and replaced main bearings, rod bearings, re ringed and i honed the cyl walls for cross hatching. im pretty lenient about this kinda stuff. now im down to deciding what cam i wanna run. i been really looking into 228/228 .600/.600 tsp cam. sounds and performs good for the street. also throwing in dual springs. i got a ahold of a ls6 manifold im gonna install. already bought the idler relocate bracket and spacer to run a vette or camaro water pump.

anyways what cam can i run that will top out my ls6 manifold.? and whats the biggest cam that these engine can take with dished pistons.?

thank you guys, appreciate it.
Old 09-20-2016, 07:06 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ms3 is what I'm going to run with my full bolt on lq9.
Old 09-21-2016, 09:14 AM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts

Vehicle weight, converter stall, idle quality, tuning capability, driveability, all play a factor in what cam to choose.

You can get a massive cam to fit easily.
It won't idle below 1100, have zero part throttle cruising torque, cause the truck to stall and die in gear with a stock converter, only make top-end power (actually making the truck slower), top out stock injectors (causing it to go lean), etc. Saying you want the biggest cam that fits is an extremely foolish thing to say.