Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2004, 12:36 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust

I'm looking for advice or info. I have a stock '00 Z28 vert, (just got it about a month ago). The first thing I wanna do is let it breathe. I would prefer some headers, dual cats xpipe with dual mufflers straight out. Anyone have a similiar setup? What are some different opinions on headers as far as shorty's vs longtube? Per the US gov. I can't have the cats taken out and most muffler guys won't touch them so I am a great welder so can i do all this myself? And what are some of y'all's opinions on different brand mufflers? I'm leaning toward magnaflow for the straight thru design and borla is way out of my price range.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 08-01-2004, 12:52 AM
12 Second Club

LONGTUBES or mac's no shorter...get carsounds or random tech cats...not sure what X-pipe mayb a cusotm betn one will do it....whats very popular are the Dynomax Bullet 18" mufflers...or Borla XR1 roudn mufflers.....if your looking for loud and screaming go Flowmaster 1 or 2 chamber....

Kooks or QTP LT's are stainless steel best quality and very great flow...expensive however
Pacesetters are the cheapest...flow good...and well are very populay....jsut my 2 cents
Old 08-01-2004, 01:04 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As per the federal goverment you cannot have long nor mid lengths. They both relocate the cats from their stock location thus changing the heat up time and efficiency of them. Now that is clear, if you are going to do either do the long tubes. Can't argue with the QTP' or Kooks above but if you want stainless I advise to get them coated too in order to prevent discolorization. They will turn gold on you eventually. As for muffler, the GMMG is the best sounding thing going bar none. If you don't want to spend the money for it make your own chambered system.
Old 08-01-2004, 01:14 AM
12 Second Club