Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Assistance Reading Nitrous Spark Plugs (first timer)

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2013, 09:05 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Assistance Reading Nitrous Spark Plugs (first timer)

Hello everyone. I am a newbie to nitrous and have tried to do as much research as possible on this forum and a few other forums such as yellow bullet. Right now I am running a 2000 Z28 LS1 M6 with a torquer v2 and supporting bolt on modifications (LT's, LS6 intake, racetronix fuel pump etc.). Additionally I am running a Nitrous Outlet 78mm plate, using an LNC2000 to pull timing, MSD digital window switch, etc. I am just getting into the tuning aspects of the system and am requesting a bit of assistance as I really only have basic knowledge of plug reading.

Made a hit last night on a 150 shot (62 N2O 33 Fuel) with 7 degrees of timing pulled. Window switch sprays from 4200-6300. The plugs had almost zero idle time on them... Basically swapped new plugs on a warm motor, turned it on and made a 1st-3rd gear pull. The motor was shut off right after the pull. I realize that this pull was likely not long enough to get a fuel ring on the porcelain but have read that a short 1/8th mile pull (or so) is a good place to start before loading the motor up on a high gear pass.

Anyways here are some photos. From what I can see it looks like I should probably back the timing off 1 degree and it looks like it may be a little lean judging from the base of the plug. I have researched and most guys like the base of the plug to have around 3/4 of a full turn of color. Again, I am a newbie and am looking for any advice possible from those that have experience reading and tuning with spark plug readings.

I am posting pictures in pairs. Meaning there are two pictures for each spark plug (pulled 5 plugs).

Name:  photo_2_zps1f602904.jpg
Views: 3779
Size:  19.7 KB
Name:  photo_3_zpsef09bfe0.jpg
Views: 3171