Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

This is for everyone who is afraid to rattle can their car.

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2007, 01:52 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default This is for everyone who is afraid to rattle can their car.

So this is my first time working bondo ever. And I painted this in a shed. About two coats of primer, 4 coats of duplicolor gloss black and 2 coats of clear. This is the end result. ENJOY.

I was too lazy to wash the car before the pics so its a little dirty.

OH NO WHAT HAPPENED TO THE KEY HOLE!!!

Last edited by nomoneyz; 05-13-2007 at 02:00 PM.
Old 05-13-2007, 02:46 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

you can paint stuff well with rattle cans, you just have to take your time... Looks good, did u just fill you key hole with bondo?
Old 05-13-2007, 03:04 PM
Launching!

I thought something looked different about it and it was the key hole. Looks good.
Old 05-13-2007, 03:32 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by davidfre21
you can paint stuff well with rattle cans, you just have to take your time... Looks good, did u just fill you key hole with bondo?
Yah I just used bondo. I had to put something behind the hole so the bondo didnt just fall threw.

Thanks for the compliments everyone, it honestly took about 11-13 hours give or take, from start to finish. I split it into a couple days.
Old 05-13-2007, 03:55 PM
On The Tree

You do realize filler that thick, in a hole, is going to crack and fall out? The first good amount of pressure or flex, that filler will start cracking. It will leave you with a new mess/project to repair again.

I guess it's all good, if you are happy with it, but I would not have went that route. Filler's basic principle is suppose to be used to finish out defects with metal, after the metal has been worked/dollied out... not for filling open holes.
Old 05-13-2007, 04:47 PM
TECH Addict