PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tuners....question about the MAF...

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2010, 01:41 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Tuners....question about the MAF...

So, my engine is old. But runs like a top. I never really cared because it runs so damn good. I know its been running rich for awhile because my bumper gets black above my tailpipes after about a week, and when I nail the throttle from a roll I get a little black smoke. (black)

About 3 years ago I unplugged my MAF when the engine was off and cold. I started it up and went for a drive for about 25 minutes. The engine/car ran 100% the same as it always had. So I figured my MAF had failed. I got a new one, hooked it up and "no" difference. I then unplugged that new MAF and "no" difference. I was told that my PCM defaulted to a SD tune....????

So I have been running MAF'less for a few years. I bought a new MAF again last week, hooked it up and again "no" change. Engine operates normally and pretty much perfect, except for it does need about 1 full minute to warm up when cold before I take off. The rpm's jump around for about 1 minute before they settle. But after that its all normal.

QUESTION:
How do I get my PCM to recognize and utilize the new MAF again...its like it refuses to use it.....???? It would be nice to not run so rich.
I disconnected the battery for more than 30 minutes to reset the PCM, didn't do anything.

Old 01-25-2010, 02:05 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

you need to look at what your o2 sensors are doing.
Old 01-25-2010, 02:23 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by cause4panic
you need to look at what your o2 sensors are doing.
They are new if that matters.

If I'm getting alot of blow-by just because the engine is so old....would that cause it to take the MAF out of the loop and run on a SD tune?

Old 01-25-2010, 02:26 PM
9 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have you ever had the car tuned?