PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MAF translator to fix my stock maf swap?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 11:33 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default MAF translator to fix my stock maf swap?

In 2003 I bought a slp 85mm mass airflow sensor and I threw away my stocker Mass air flow sensor like an idiot when I moved! My SLP maf is broken beyond repair! I have just purchased a new 85mm corvette unit because I wanted to continue using the 5 pin adapter and I like the larger diameter of the 85mm, it fits my slp box/bellow nicely. My question is, can a Diablo predator handheld properly adjust my fuel curves or whatever to make it work properly? I also was wondering if I would need to buy a maf translator along with it or will the diablo unit take care of my tuning? The part number on my new maf is 25168491. thanks for any help you can offer. I am just learning about tuning so please go easy on me!
Old 02-04-2011, 01:05 AM
Teching In

anyone? I know somebody can help?
Old 02-04-2011, 11:21 AM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The 85mm will make the car fat. The handheld can only fudge the injector table, but what you need is to calibrate the MAF. The MAF translator is a relic from 2000, but it can be used if you have a wideband and can log trims, but it makes very coarse adjustments. The best results would come from using a real tuning suite or to have it done for you by a tuner.
Old 02-04-2011, 05:57 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Get a used truck MAF. Remove the resistor from your dead
SLP MAF and solder it onto the new (used) MAF in the same
way. Voila, you have another SLP MAF.
Old 02-05-2011, 02:09 AM
Teching In