Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

timing strategy

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2016, 04:58 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default timing strategy

Just curious to what your timing strategy is? I have been doing my own tuning for a few years now and I am by no means a expert and am always trying to learn new things. I have done a lot of reading on timing and it seems to be some huge secret within the tuning world. It is pretty common knowledge that a ls1 style engine likes 24-28 degrees of timing at wot but without having a dyno how are you supposed to know if it likes 24 or 28 degrees? My engine seems to like around 25 degrees so thats what I run it at and it runs very well but who knows. Also what is the best way to bring in the timing? Do you start low and bring it in up top or do you give it more timing down low bring it down up top? I have been starting low and ramping it up to my desired timing around 3000 rpm. I have looked at several tunes in the repository and this seems to be how most people do it and my car seems to run well doing it that way but if there is a better way please teach me.

I attached a copy of my tune so you can tell me what you think.
Attached Files
File Type: hpt
HC TUNE 25.hpt (226.7 KB, 107 views)
Old 06-16-2016, 07:26 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

ls1 style engine likes 24-28 degrees of timing at wot but without having a dyno how are you supposed to know if it likes 24 or 28 degrees? My engine seems to like around 25 degrees so thats what I run it at and it runs very well but who knows.