Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

I may need a tune for my 06 goat, any suggestions please?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2012, 05:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I may need a tune for my 06 goat, any suggestions please?

I bought a 2006 GTO with cam, headers, hurst shifter.. as far as i know everything else is stock, exhaust (resonator back), intake, manifold and PCM.

The car pulls very strong, the previous owner ran nitrous so i know the car has been beat on..

I pulled my valve covers off to inspect a ticking noise to find i also have chromoly push-rods, titanium retainers and dual springs.. but stock GM rockers, which i was told it has zero back lash causing a tapping due to cam and springs upgrade.

(Also ill throw this out there, ive switched from the Tuner scene to Muscle so i am new to this particular car!) I wanted more power.. haha.

So my question is I believe i need a tune, my buddies who have GTO's and WS6's have told me this just because the sound of my car at idle.

Whats the best place and price i can get my car tuned??

Thank you!
Old 08-16-2012, 05:15 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A dyno tune is usually $400-500.

As far as where to go, it might help to know your location.
Old 08-16-2012, 05:36 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm sure it has been tuned already if it has cam, headers and he ran NO2. Whether it was tuned correctly, especially at idle, is the question. IF it was tuned on a dyno almost any monkey can tune a car for peak WOT power. It's the transitional and idle that's time consuming and harder.

As far a ticking, our LSx engines sound like sewing machines especially with an aftermarket cam and the plastic intake manifold. The rocker has zero lash plus an additional preload on the hydraulic lifters. The rockers are fine except sometime the needle bearings spew out and that causes a problem. Comp Cam has an inexpensive upgrade with bearing trunnions secured by C-clips.