Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Beginner here looking for some help

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2014, 03:00 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Beginner here looking for some help

So the other day i had the chance to auto x my dads stock 5th gen SS and lets sayim hooked. I have a few events coming up local to me and im going to put my 4th gen in. The car is stock springs and shocks, stock front suspension, 2pt SFC's, non adj LCA, Relobrackets, and an adj panhard bar and everything is poly bushings. 17x9 wheels with some BFG all season tires. I dont plan on going ***** to the wall but what should i do as far as setup.

I saw add an extra quart of oil which i will do. Also i had stock LS1 brakes with slotted and drilled rotors with ceremic pads. I have bilstein shocks that i will put on but probably not before the first event coming up in a few weeks. Any tips for a basically first timer?
Old 06-29-2014, 04:50 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by 73CamaroLT
So the other day i had the chance to auto x my dads stock 5th gen SS and lets sayim hooked. I have a few events coming up local to me and im going to put my 4th gen in. The car is stock springs and shocks, stock front suspension, 2pt SFC's, non adj LCA, Relobrackets, and an adj panhard bar and everything is poly bushings. 17x9 wheels with some BFG all season tires. I dont plan on going ***** to the wall but what should i do as far as setup.

I saw add an extra quart of oil which i will do. Also i had stock LS1 brakes with slotted and drilled rotors with ceremic pads. I have bilstein shocks that i will put on but probably not before the first event coming up in a few weeks. Any tips for a basically first timer?
Go out and have some fun!
If you still have the stock LCA's put those back on, as poly LCA will bind and cause sketchy handling. Same for the relocation brackets, remove them as they are only hurting your handling.