Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

replacing Monsoon receiver, is it necessary to rewire to stock amp?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2004, 05:16 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default replacing Monsoon receiver, is it necessary to rewire to stock amp?

Basically I want to get satellite radio and I'm looking at a Kenwood deck that is Sirius ready and a tuner. I want to keep the stock speakers and amp. Car Toys is telling me that they need to rewire everything all the way back to the amp and that's an extra $100. I'm not an audio expert but this doesn't make sense to me. Is there any truth to what they say?

Thanks!

BTW, I have an '02 TA with Monsoon.
Old 03-20-2004, 06:26 PM
TECH Apprentice

they are full of crap.... All you need is the wiring harness it plugs right in to the factory connection behind the radio...
Old 03-21-2004, 08:17 AM
Launching!

Originally Posted by Rogue Leader
they are full of crap.... All you need is the wiring harness it plugs right in to the factory connection behind the radio...
he said it they are full of it.they are trying to u.If I were you Iwould look on e-bay for the tuner you want as well cause they are probally quoteing you a price 2 times two high.
Old 03-21-2004, 01:55 PM
Teching In

I've been to 3 different stores now and they all say they have to rewire everything. Until April 3rd if you buy a Kenwood deck you get a free Kenwood Sirius tuner, so I'm saving $150, but then getting ripped off on the installs prices. Is it possible if they don't rewire everything it won't sound as good or maybe the new receiver might blow the speakers??
Old 03-21-2004, 04:36 PM
12 Second Club

yeah these guys are probably right. are you selling your monsoon cd player?
Old 03-21-2004, 07:47 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by blevina