Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Antenna system missing from car-- options?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2014, 08:14 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Antenna system missing from car-- options?

I've been rolling around with no radio for a few months now, but it's recently started bothering me. I took a peek back there, and there is no (stock) antenna system whatsoever. No bracket, nothing. PO installed a marine antenna and cut into the stock coax wire.

My question is, what exactly can I do to rebound from this and go back to a stock setup? I've been wanting Viper's antenna, but without an assembly, I'm not sure if it would even work. Any insight is appreciated.
Old 01-18-2014, 08:45 PM
TECH Enthusiast

do you think prev owner's antennae motor went out and he just removed the unit and connected up a stationary antennae?

If that is case, check to see if plug, power wires are still there. If so, I'd put out a "want to buy" post on the classified sections on the board or just find the part number or google search it / ebay etc., a lot of these guys that part out Fbodies will know exactly what it is. These cars are parted out daily. Coaxial cable they are easily repaired by securing it on a fitting, male / female connection, just ask a Radio Shack desk jockey to help you find the part.
Old 01-19-2014, 08:31 AM
Save the manuals!

Received 322 Likes on 295 Posts

Hide it and shave it:

https://ls1tech.com/forums/stereo-el...m-antenna.html
https://ls1tech.com/forums/general-m...haved-you.html
Old 01-19-2014, 07:53 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

This! The car looks so much cleaner without it! I, too, was hit by someone and used that opportunity to have the antenna hole welded up.
Old 01-20-2014, 09:32 AM
Teching In