Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

newb needs help! lower car, suspension upgrade questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2012, 10:51 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default newb needs help! lower car, suspension upgrade questions

Hey everyone. I'm a complete newb when it comes to suspension mods / upgrades. I started reseaching on here and have a lot more to do but was hoping for some guidance in doing so. Here goes:

I recently put 18"x9.5" OE c6 z06 replicas on the trans am. 285s in front 295s in rear...the wheels have a 40mm offset. I love how they look but didn't realize how much the ride height would change...also the fender gap.

I want to lower since I'm thinking its way too much gap and have been reading about the mods, rear hose lower perch etc.. Later Ill post pictures of the gap and ride height and hopefully someone could guide me towards how much to lower it / which route to pick to do that and the side effects of doing it.

What concerns me is I want to lower it but I don't want to lose ride quality / handling. I'm in staten island NY, the roads are crap. I don't want to bottom out on every manhole cover/pothole. If anything I want to upgrade it since I'm less than thrilled with the ride comfort of the stock setup 80,000 miles later. I have a decent budget set aside but I want to make sure I'm doing it RIGHT. When all is said and done, I want to feel an improvement. Is the way to accomplish that by using Koni SA's, Bilsteins or the Edelbrocks shocks?

Any advice or input would help a lot. Thanks!
Old 04-12-2012, 01:19 PM
Staging Lane