Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Upgrading Suspension Whats best?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2012, 10:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrading Suspension Whats best?

well im new to the camaro family and im looking into what brands are good and which ones to avoid. i currently have a 98 camaro with a 3.8L V6 3800 series. i'm basically looking for a new suspension system all together that will lower my car 1-2in also any suggestions? and i even want to get new sway bars and everything. also i will be upgrading to an ls1-ls3 sometime here soon would that play into what suspension i get. Also what are some good shopping sites for camaro parts?
Thanks brady
Old 05-19-2012, 11:28 AM
TECH Regular

A quick search will yield you answers to all of your questions.

Sites I use for parts are texas-speed.com, ws6store.com, marylandspeed.com, etc.

As far as suspension, there are tons of options out there. It really all depends on what you want to do with your car and how much you are looking to spend.

For a drag setup, I would look into either Strange or QA1 shocks. If you're wanting a shock that will perform well on the street and handle nicely, Koni makes the best you can purchase for these cars. Bilsteins are a nice shot for a little less money.

Check out stranoparts.com . Sam strano is a multi time world champion in SCCA, several of his championships being won behind the wheel of an ls1 fbody. I order all of my suspension parts through him and will continue to do so in the future. Great costumer service. Contact him with any question you have and he will be more than happy to help you out.

I would wait until you do the engine swap to do most of your suspension. Reason being you will need a different spring rate than with your current v6. UMI sells a nice k member that you can purchase that will accomadate the ls1 or whatever you intend to drop in.
Old 05-19-2012, 12:08 PM