Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

How much Potential am I loosing?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2007, 02:28 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default How much Potential am I loosing?

I installed my Konis this last February. I did not have funds to buy new springs, so I put the Koni's on w/ stock springs that have 130K miles on them.

When I talked to Sam, he asked me "Why do you think you need lowering springs?" I tried to answer his question, but the only thing that came to mind was 'Because everyone else has them.'

I have been driving w/ the Koni's for 6 months now and they control rapid body movement VERY well, but the overall lean of the car in hard corners was not changed much from stock (just how long it took to get to full tilt). I want the car to tilt less in the harder corners, so should I am trying to figure if I need springs or sway bars.

I was thinking, if I have these great shocks, am I wasting some potential by not going to stiffer spring?

My car is a DD and it rides kinda rough right now over sudden bumps, but does not bottom out on some of the VERY steep driveways around here.

The Strano Springs have a perfect look on the F-Bodys and I know that proper R&D was done on them before they were put into production.

I guess my question is, will the possible degredation in ride quality be worth the extra handling on a DD with the great shock I finally got?
Old 08-24-2007, 03:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Get some swaybars with some poly endlinks and mounts. Springs help control body roll, but sways help alot more without sacrificing ride quality.
Old 08-24-2007, 03:52 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I have konis and Strano springs and my car actually rides pretty smooth after I got my shocks adjusted... I'm going to say get Strano springs. 1. Because they are the perfect stance. 2. There going to help handling. Oh and you said it rides a little rough now. How do you have your shocks adjusted?
Old 08-24-2007, 04:32 PM
TECH Senior Member