recommendations on laminate flooring purchase/installation in Houston

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2008, 11:17 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default recommendations on laminate flooring purchase/installation in Houston

Hey guys/gals....

I'm looking to have some laminate flooring put in my house. I went to Lowes today to check some stuff out, but since I am a complete newb at this kind of stuff I thought I would check on here and look for recommendations.

Does anyone here have any recommendations as to where is a good place to buy the flooring and have it put in? I'm not a DIY guy so I'm looking for someone legit who knows what they are doing.

Please let me know if you have any feedback on someone who can help me out...

thanks in advance!!

Louie
Old 02-23-2008, 11:51 PM
Staging Lane

floor & decor is a little bit cheaper than lowes and home depot and have way more variety. And be sure to tell the installers to put the thin foam sheet underneath the laminate flooring,some don't use the sheet.As far as quality,laminate floors tend to stretch over time,so if you can afford wood floors,go for it.
Old 02-24-2008, 12:24 AM
Teching In

check with flooring america, I believe they are the ones who did ours, and they have real wood as well (looks much better). Not sure on exact pricing because we were going through an insurance company due to our house fire. Plus we removed all the old flooring, which gave us credit, but thats another story. Anyway, the guys came out and did everything relatively quick, and has a great waranty. We have had a few minor problems with the transition pieces a few times, and the next day they send guys out to fix it.
Old 02-24-2008, 12:44 AM
TECH Apprentice

Another Floor and decor guy here. I bought Bamboo as it can be refinished where laminant is a one shot type deal. Diy, not as hard as you think. LAbor costs more than the flooring.
Old 02-24-2008, 01:12 AM
Staging Lane