Advanced Engineering Tech For the more hardcore LS1TECH residents

Intake manifold modifications/ runner length?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2010, 12:07 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Intake manifold modifications/ runner length?

The aluminum weiland a porfessional pr. intakes have a removeable bottom cover....would one gain or lose power if they could go in the and lengthen or shorten the runners? In my mind I was think if I could lengthen each runner I would gain power down low-mid range...would I be correct in thinking this? Im still a major newbie but am a fantastic tig welder and have worked with aluminum exclusivelly the last 15 years, If one had the ability to modify the inside of one of these intakes...what would theorietically be the optimum thing to do for increased performance over out of the box performance. Or should i leave the guts of it alone and open.smooth the tb opening and the intake to head ports?
Old 01-31-2010, 01:14 PM
TECH Apprentice

If this is in the wrong section I apologize...I was a little torn on where it belongs. If I need to move it, please direct me to the correct spot.
Old 01-31-2010, 03:09 PM
TECH Apprentice

Dont everyone chime in at once
Old 02-01-2010, 04:08 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by zaner
The aluminum weiland a porfessional pr. intakes have a removeable bottom cover....would one gain or lose power if they could go in the and lengthen or shorten the runners? In my mind I was think if I could lengthen each runner I would gain power down low-mid range...would I be correct in thinking this? Im still a major newbie but am a fantastic tig welder and have worked with aluminum exclusivelly the last 15 years, If one had the ability to modify the inside of one of these intakes...what would theorietically be the optimum thing to do for increased performance over out of the box performance. Or should i leave the guts of it alone and open.smooth the tb opening and the intake to head ports?