Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications

Alancantra vs Real Leather

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 11:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alancantra vs Real Leather

I started painting my panels black a couple weeks ago. and I hate it.

So Im looking for other options.

I hate fake anything. So fake leather/vinyl, isnt really an option. (maybe)

But between a real hide of leather and alancantra, what would you guy wrap everything in.

I was thinking about wrapping all the panels in alancantra and then the doors would be contrasted with real CF inserts.

Center console?

What do you guys think?
Old 03-13-2010, 12:02 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts

I really agree with you, painted interior is even worse then stock. Your idea could work.
Old 03-13-2010, 12:34 AM
On The Tree

Plenty of car manufactures BMW, Lamborghini, and Maserati to name a few use Alcantara brand fabrics in their vehicles. It is high quality stuff, but very pricey. I believe Ultrasuede, the brand, might be somehow associated with Alcantara and they also offer high quality synthetic suedes.
Old 03-13-2010, 12:41 AM
TECH Fanatic

I'm wrapping my interior in black microsuede, and eventually i'll have my center console hydrodipped carbon fiber, vinyl door panels, microsuede inserts...maybe. I'm not fully prioritizing this until summertime.. but I did just pick up a sewing machine and will be starting on the upper console lid, shifter boot, parking brake boot, and a dash piece this week once i get the material from the mail. If I wasn't going for the blacked out look, w/ my matte black stripes and all..I would go all black vinyl wrapped interior. alcantara is nice, but starting to get a wee bit too common in econoboxes, such as lancer ralliarts. I say go all vinyl or leather, if money is not a considerable factor.