Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

I tried this new product called ToughGuard

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2014, 05:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I tried this new product called ToughGuard

I am a helicopter pilot by trade and came across a new product that was being applied to airplanes and helicopters in my company. I was told that it was also being applied to high end cars and trucks. Good enough for the aviation industry, it was good enough for me to give it a try on my Camaro SS. I thought I would pass this on to others that would like to try this product for detailing their cars.

ToughGuard is a two step process that provides a bond with the paint and smooth's out painted surfaces. The smoother the painted surface, the easier air flows over it thus minimizing parasitic drag and keeping dirt from adhering to the surface. It was very easy to apply.

1. Wash the car with what they call step one. It is kind of slimy but takes all the old polish and contaminants off the paint.
2. Apply two coats of ToughGuard with an orbital buffer using speed selector 2 on the speed and let it set for an hour or more. A little bit of this product goes a long ways. Not like a wax.
3. Buff it off with a foam pad or similar pad using speed selector 5 on the orbital buffer.

Very easy to do and the finish is Unbelievable. The paint really pops and it is guaranteed to last up to 5 years. I have a black Camaro so I wasn't sure what to expect. Super happy and the surface is very smooth.

The website is www.toughguard.com so check it out if interested.

Thought this might help my fellow drivers as an alternative to wax?

Mike
Attached Thumbnails I tried this new product called ToughGuard-ss-1.jpg  
Old 11-05-2014, 07:11 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts

That looks awesome, what kind of pads for the polishing?
Old 11-05-2014, 08:57 PM
Teching In