Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Scared to install cme valance

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2005, 05:53 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scared to install cme valance

I having been screwing with my exhaust for over a month now. I finally got the tips on and I am in the process of putting the valance on. But after researching for install tips I am scared to try. I am afraid that if I put it on it wont stay up very long. I read about the emblem adhesive but what if I decide to take it off some day. I didnt know that all that held the valance on was 3m tape. If I would have known before I bought it I wouldnt have gotten it. I mean damn I spent $150 on something that is held up with tape? I am not a engineer but I think I could have probably thought up a better way to hold this damn thing on. Sorry just needed to vent.
Old 05-04-2005, 11:57 AM
TECH Regular

If you search there are a few good posts on this.

I used the tape and it is still on there. I have even pressure washed my car when washing it.

Make sure you clean the bumper with wax/grease remover and use adhesion promoter on the valance.

Good Luck
Old 05-04-2005, 12:35 PM
Launching!

cant you screw it on somehow? i have the 2 piece kit from slp and it also has the 3M tape but has pre-drilled holes so you can screw them on the underside of the bumper. do you wanna trade?
Old 05-04-2005, 01:40 PM
10 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Its got 3 pine cone plugs that hold it up also. 1 goes behind each wheel, & 1 goes dead center of the tips. Im the one that typed the threads about emblem adhesive. Everyone seems to think that it pulls the paint off of scars it & etc. The 3m emblem adhesive dries like plastic & peals off extremly easly. It doesnt dry like super glue or gorilla glue. Its not that stropng. Im thinking about pulling mine off when I get home & snap some pics just so everyone can see that you cant even tell it was there. This is the stuff I used: