Sponsored by:

4l60e doesn't shift from D2 to D3 at wot

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2019, 04:36 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 4l60e doesn't shift from D2 to D3 at wot

Hi,

I am a new tranny tech, a customer of mine came to me with transmission that doesn't shift from D2 to D3 at wot and very harsh shifting all the time at all gears and ranges. i dismantled the transmission and found the following:

burned band and damaged input drum
wrong servo pin (broken and fixed by welding which made it longer)
very tight clearance of 3-4 clutch pack
oil PR tested and found leaking badly, replaced with over size and leak was fixed (tested by sonnax vacuum test kit)
VB was tested and found okay
manual lever switch was found faulty and replaced with new one.

the tranny was fixed, after testing the harsh shifting issue is resolved but the wot issue is not resolved

please advice if you know the cause.....

Thanks,
Old 07-11-2019, 04:43 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 345 Likes on 237 Posts

What vehicle is this in?

If going from a stock build to performance build could be a tuning issue.

Does it eventually shift after bouncing off the limiter?
Old 07-11-2019, 06:39 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1,204 Likes on 844 Posts

The 2 - 3 and the 3 - 2 shifts in this unit are "syncronous shifts" and require proper clearances/ timings of the corresponding band and clutch assembly.

Should the 2 - 4 Band be too lose and the 3 - 4 clutch be too tight; the 2 - 3 up-shift will not occur properly (basically what you found).
Also should the 2 - 4 band be too tight and the 3 - 4 clutch be too lose... the 2 - 3 shift will still not occur properly.

Incorrect timing of this shift will either cause a down-shift into first instead of third; or up-shift into fourth instead of third, before eventually going into third gear.

This is going to go against what the GM factory specifications support. However, most of us builders even set up stock units with these specs that I am giving you.