Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1995 4l60e line pressures

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2024, 09:01 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 4l60e line pressures

Found these line pressures....readings at idle. Trans won't downshift....just shudders. But it hooks up strongly...just a downshift issue. What do those numbers suggest? Thanks for any input!!
P = 74 psi
R = 100 psi
N = 74 psi
OD = 74 psi
3 = 74 psi
2 = 130 psi
1 = 76 psi
Old 05-26-2024, 09:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 188 Likes on 150 Posts

Those look considerably low to me but I'm no expert. Reverse with those numbers is the big hint for me. That should be a lot higher.

Rick
The following users liked this post:
jalfredprufrock (05-27-2024)
Old 05-26-2024, 10:06 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 477 Likes on 327 Posts

The number look fine for just idling .
"I Am assuming truck or gto with 2nd gear start capability" Now WOT pressures would be more useful.

jalfredprufrock (05-27-2024)
Old 05-27-2024, 07:16 AM
Staging Lane

In a 1995 GMC K1500 pickup.
A friend of mine drove it 40 miles on a very low fluid level (bad news!!)...that's when that downshift issue began (perhaps I'm lucky that's all the issue I have!!).
It hooks up solidly...put it in any gear and you can feel it engage. No slippage and it'll get the truck moving no problem. But instead of downshifting, or even accelerating, when I step on the gas, it just falters and 'sort of' shudders. Fluid looks and smells fine. My gauge 'hose' is too short for WOT reading...or maybe I don't know how to do such a reading.

Resigned to pulling and disassembling it...a shame though; it ran so well after I rebuilt it in 2017 (thanks to the direction and guidance of a lot of people on here and the recommended manuals). 20 k miles since the rebuild, and no issues. Someone on here pointed out that transmissions do not like low fluid levels...they are not an engine.

Appreciate the reply.

Old 05-27-2024, 08:12 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor