Cadillac CTS-V 2004-2007 (Gen I) The Caddy with an Attitude...

Mod. Warranty Questions???

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2007, 01:40 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Mod. Warranty Questions???

What is going to void my 100,000 mile $0 Deductible Warranty?? (sorry for the ignorance I'm new to this)
I wanted to put an Exhaust, CAI, Shorth Throw Shifter, BMR Kit, Sound System, and possible chip work.

Thanks In Advance
-BiGMike
Old 02-23-2007, 03:03 PM
Teching In

Hello,

Installing Corsa exhaust will not void your warranty, installing headers may affect your warranty, installing a chip will void your warranty, sound system would void certain warranty (such as factory nav), not sure if a short throw shifter would affect your warranty. Nitrous will void your entire engine warranty. A supercharger installed by GM Performance Center will NOT void your warranty at all.

Basically if any modifications done to the car "may" have lead to the problem for which you are brining in your car will void the warranty for that item.

For example if your car is running hard and you have a chip installed, Cadillac is not going to fix the problem under warranty.

Hope it helps...
Old 02-23-2007, 05:17 PM
Staging Lane

A supercharger installed by GM Performance will NOT void you warranty??? How's that when you're adding like 100+ HP/TQ to your car? Everyone knows including GM that the rear end sucks so when it breaks they will replace it?
Old 02-23-2007, 05:17 PM
TECH Resident

Everyhting Except For The Chip.
Old 02-23-2007, 11:31 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There is no "chip"
Old 02-24-2007, 01:28 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by stkshkr
There is no "chip"
Correct

It varies from dealer to dealer - some are mod-friendly, some are not.

Here is some potentially helpful info:

http://www.enjoythedrive.com/content/?ID=8124
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnuson-Moss_Warranty_Act

Old 02-24-2007, 02:56 AM
Teching In