Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another LS swap

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2013, 12:57 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another LS swap

Hey newbie here wanting to swap a LS engine into my 65 Impala. I've read and read and read and read more and still unsure of what route to go. I have a couple of option here and uanble to decide what would be best buy for swap. One guy has a ls from a 2001 camaro with 80 thousands miles on it, already pulled with wire harness and pcm. Another guy has a 2000 camaro car that has been wrecked and totaled. They both are asking $2000. I also have an option to buy a 2000 silverado for $1500. It is the only vehicle that has ran in the last year. Any suggestion from you smart people here?
Old 02-28-2013, 03:03 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

What kind of performance are you after? Worried about weight? If it's just a cruiser, I would opt for the truck, you can part the rest of the truck out for close to the 1500.
Old 02-28-2013, 03:08 PM
Teching In

Just looking for a cruiser. Something reliable. Power isn't a big concern although i wouldn't mind a lil more than my current 283 and powerglide have to offer. My concern with the truck is it seems like there are alot of parts need from a camaro to complete the swap. Kinda wondering if maybe the camaro would be worth it just because it has all parts and also about 60000 miles less than the truck.
Old 02-28-2013, 03:20 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

You swapping engine only or trans as well? Do the camaro motors come with transmissions? 2000 seems high for just motor harness and PCM.
Old 02-28-2013, 04:15 PM
Teching In

If i purchased the camaro that has been wrecked or the truck, i will swap trans also. I have three options
1. 2002 Camaro SS engine with accesories, wire harness, and pcm already pulled (thought is was a 2001 z28 but owner confirmed its from a 2002 ss)