Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What should I charge to put an LS1 in to an LT1 f-body?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2009, 06:54 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should I charge to put an LS1 in to an LT1 f-body?

Well a local guy bought an Black 99 cammed LS1 donor car today and he wants to replace the whole drivetrain in his 97 TA. I've never personally done an LS1->LT1 swap before, but I have plenty of experience with fbodies so I don't think it will be a huge deal.

The plan is to swap the whole k-member in, engine/trans and all. I'll be changing the exhaust as well. I originally told him i would do the swap if I got to keep the rest of the parts car, but the more I look at it the less I can find that is worth anything. He said he could pay me cash if that's what I wanted so I may just go that route, then help him part the rest of the car.

I've had 4 fbodies (3 lt1, 1 ls1) and have done plenty of k-member pulling. That should not be a problem. And having a complete k-member, steering rack and all will be a big help. I did 2 years of automotive in high school, and i'm on my 2nd year of post secondary. I'm used to turning a wrench

Now the question is - should I go for the car remains, or just cash? What kind of cash amount is a fair amount for this job? He's a decent friend and I don't want to stiff him, but I don't want to work nights on his car for free. I'll probably send off the pcm for the tach calibration, send the harness of to speartech just for ease of installation. He agreed to pay for the harness and pcm because he wants the swap to be done fairly quickly. Money is basically no object to him, but I don't want it to be a ripoff.