Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6.0 carb problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2010, 10:03 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 6.0 carb problems

Hi Im trying to figure out my carb on my mustang. By all means I know nothing about a carb. This is my first build and my first carb vehicle. I order a carb from pro systems built to my specs. My problem is with the cold starts. Its wanting to foul the plugs but after I clean it out for a min it runs and starts back up fine. Its a LQ4 with a 244/250 .612/.620 with a 113lsa with a set of patriot 317 heads milled compression around 10:1. I have the msd 6010 with the curve 6 chip. My fuel system is areomotive A1000 pump with the fuel pressure set around 7. I thinking its in the carb but dont know how to fix it.
Old 05-16-2010, 10:13 PM
Staging Lane

id call pro systems. from what i hear he has a great tech support and is easy to talk to. might be your best bet
Old 05-17-2010, 05:40 AM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You need to get you a wideband from Innovate or the equivalent... will help when tuning the carb!
Old 05-17-2010, 08:04 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by 87olds442
id call pro systems. from what i hear he has a great tech support and is easy to talk to. might be your best bet
Yea I called him and did everything he said but some info he gave me I didnt understand. Just dont understand why it runs so good once its warm.
Old 05-17-2010, 08:26 AM
TECH Enthusiast

did you flycut your piston ? with that cam duration and shaved heads you may have bent a valve if you didnt clearence the pistons
Old 05-17-2010, 09:24 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

If I remember correctly the pro systems carbs don't have chokes. You should expect a little trouble gettting it running with no choke. Generally that means blipping the throttle and keeping the RPMs up until it warms up a tad.