Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS2 / 4L65E Swap into a Buick T-Type

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2010 | 09:18 AM
Teching In

Default LS2 / 4L65E Swap into a Buick T-Type

I didn't know if this was the place to start this thread but since it's an LS2 I thought it would fit.

I am getting rid of the little turbo v6 for the LS2. I'm doing this for several reasons.
1) More throttle responce/power out of turns.
2) More reliability.
3) Better parts availability.
4) Lighter! Yes, the LS2 is actually around 100lbs lighter than the 109 iron block with all it's accessories. This will ballance the weight out better in the car.

I'm new to this swap and the LS so I need as much info as possible on this. If you know of links or have any pointers it will be greatly appreciated! I need all I can get! lol

Now let me tell you guy's what my "Goals" are with this set up and what it will mainly be used for.

"Use" - Mostly as a driver with several Autocross's a year and a few road courses a year with an ocasional drag strip day. The oiling issue has me scared a little but I don't see a bunch of my pro-touring buddies having issues when on a road course. not too sure why, i'll have to ask...

I want it to sound good cam wise, exhaust wise! (I already have dual stainless steel 3" exhaust)

"Power goals" - Just want around 450-500 rwhp for the straights/drag strip (ocasionally). (small nitrous shot?)

"Fuel" I already have a Red's XP+ (walbro) fuel pump with a hot wire kit that is holding up great to 24 lbs of boost right now so I think I should be fine with that.

Some have already told me my 2004r trans will fit up to the LS2. What do you guys recomend? Keep my 2004r or go with a 4L65E?

Well here is the car thats getting the swap!

Here is a Auto-X video from 3 wks ago..
Old 10-05-2010 | 10:00 AM
TECH Resident