Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cooling issues turned into other strange issues - help please

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2011, 09:46 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question Cooling issues turned into other strange issues - help please

Need suggestions as to what the issue might be. LS swapped 1950 Chevy. Sorry about the huge long thread but I'm a noob, I searched a few keywords before making this.

Swapped 5.3 with all LS1 accessories swapped onto the motor, including new waterpump with all gaskets and such, Speedway Motors aluminum radiator modified slightly modified for use in the car. The thermostat housing was re-clocked but the main body of the housing was not touched. I removed the factory thermostat from the housing because I knew it would be getting welded on and figured the rubber seal in the thermostat would get destroyed from the welding temps anyways.

Once the thermostat housing and radiator were done and I could not get that factory thermostat back into the housing the spring tension was far too great so I went and bought a stock thermostat and housing since thats how they sell them. I removed the thermostat from that housing and it went into my modified one with very little issue (was tough but nowhere near as bad as the original)

I ran the motor for about 10 minutes and the i kept an eye on everything, no gauges installed yet since I'm not fully done with it all yet. But I felt the hoses, felt the radiator tanks and all that. The electric fan kicked on which I believe the computer was set to kick on at 180 and to 160 right now.

I ran the steam tube to the radiator overflow fitting on the filler neck just so it had somewhere to go at the moment but noticed that the thermostat housing was hot but the hose and pipe on the lower radiator were not hot at all, the radiator tank on the drivers side was cool to the touch also (both inlet/out are on the passengers side tank though)