Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'65 Pontiac Tempest LS1

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2004 | 11:16 PM
Teching In

Question '65 Pontiac Tempest LS1

I have a 65 Pontiac Tempest that I recentley purchased in fairly good condition. I also purchased a Ls1 with a 4L60 trans attached. The motor and trans came out of a 98 Firebird that took a hit on the passenger side. It has 66,000 miles on it. It comes with the computer, all driven accessories, engine wiring harness o2 sensors ect. The plan is to figure out how to first fit this powertrain into the 65 and then get it running. I pretty much have most of the obvious stuff coverd like the driveshaft and fabrication of the trans and engine mountings. The biggest fear I have now is how to get this motor running in the car without the entire cars wiring harness. I have very little experience with working on ls1 motors and am very intimidated by this project. Please let me know your thoughts on potential obstacles I may have to overcome and any pointers in gereral for a guy thats in way over his head!!

PS One freind recomended going carburated to solve many problems but are the kits to change over available for an LS1?
Old 03-04-2004 | 12:51 AM
On The Tree

Edelbrock makes a nice LS1 kit with a dual plane intake, also includes an ignition box with a programmable timing curve. Literally, the kit was designed to retrofit an LS1 into an older vehicle using a carb. That would probably take care of some of your wiring woes!

Sounds like a great project! I'd get a factory manual for the 1998 Fbody, and see if that helps.
Old 03-04-2004 | 02:21 AM
TECH Fanatic

Painless wiring makes a harness for the LS1 so you can hook it up in any early model car, it comes with all the sensors and ecm too. That way you can still keep the fuel injection.
Old 03-04-2004 | 09:25 AM
Teching In