Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Motor

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2017, 08:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Torque Motor

Newbie here guys so go easy. Im looking at building a LS style motor for an airboat, and as in many things airboat engines need a lot of torque. My question is what would be a good setup to go with for a lot of torque? Im looking at aluminum block, 6.0 or 6.2. Which would be best to start with and what modifications/head swaps would be your choices?
Old 12-30-2017, 11:50 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 489 Likes on 342 Posts

Your entire premise is wrong. Do a few more years of research, then come back with intelligent questions.
Old 12-31-2017, 12:08 AM

Originally Posted by gametech
Your entire premise is wrong. Do a few more years of research, then come back with intelligent questions.
Well I'm not sure what a "intelligent" question would be. I am looking for options on what motor to start with. The only things i know that i want at this point is aluminum block motor (for weight obviously) and i want a LS style engine because thats what the gearbox bolt pattern is built for. I don't want to buy a LM4 only to find out later that it is the worst possible bottom end for a build. Does any of this make sense now?
Old 12-31-2017, 12:51 AM
On The Tree

LS1Tech really isn't the place to ask such a question as you can see by the first responder (sorry for his rudeness). Weight and gph is of most concern. An aluminum block is the best choice as you already know. You will need a very broad powerband with as much torque as possible. The cam selection is dependent on the gear box ratio you use and other factors and are quite different than a cam used in a car.

I suggest you contact these guys that have the proper knowledge: http://www.waterthunder.com/

If they won't sell you a cam, maybe they can point you in the right direction. Good luck with your project.
Old 12-31-2017, 01:06 AM