Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LT1 stand alone harness - first timer

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2018 | 02:45 AM
Teching In

Arrow LT1 stand alone harness - first timer

So i pulled the engine from my Caprice and also the wiring harness. Now i want to convert it to a standalone harness but as it's my first time this i not so straightforward.

As the LT1 is by far not popular but where i'm from (Belgium) it's what i get to work with. Finding information about this engine and the pin outs is not so easy.
My best scource so far is lt1swap.com, specifcally this page with wiring schematics:
http://lt1swap.com/95impalalt1.htm

But my harness is different from those schematics although quite similar.

The biggest question i have is how do i know what i can remove from the harness and what not?
And is it likely that faults will start to pop up in the ecu when certain connectors are not connected, how do i get round that?
Old 07-01-2018 | 05:03 AM
Teching In

Ok, just found the pinout for the pcm on lt1swap through google. So my first question on what to remove has been answered

LT1 stand alone harness - first timer-ndyqzjf.jpg
LT1 stand alone harness - first timer-s0rlsla.jpg
Old 07-01-2018 | 08:25 AM
TECH Fanatic

Hello Dieter,

Small world, I used to live in Mons-Casteau back in 1994-97. Yes, faults will show up for the things you are deleting from your harness. But we deal with those by modifying the program running inside the PCM - we use an application called "HP Tuners" though there are other apps that can also do this. Basically, HP Tuners tells the Powertrain Control Module to either ignore those faults or to not illuminate the Check Engine Light / Malfunction Indicator Light. In the best case, these faults will not even show up when a DTC code reader is connected to the On Board Diagnostics (OBD) II connector.

Here below is what my local tuner person who has HP Tuners did to my PCM: