Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

So Confused! LS newbie.

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2024, 08:17 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default So Confused! LS newbie.

Hi All! I have been building hot rods for 40 years but this is my first LS adventure. I just bought a rear-ended, 130000 mile Chevy Express 3500 with an LQ4 6.0 and 4L80. I was able to drive it 60 miles back home. No lifter noise, no check engine light, shifted great.

This combination will be transplanted into a 1965 Corvair sitting on a G-body frame. It should weigh in at 2200-2400lbs. I have a set of 243 heads to raise the compression to 10:1.

I will be installing LS7 lifters, .080 pushrods, new rockers, valve springs, and LS G-body swap headers. I want to remain N/A with a lopey idle and drivability. It will be driven regularly and shown throughout the summer season. It will most likely have a vintage air unit installed.

I have read lots of cam/intake swap articles but all have contradictory outcomes. I’m looking for real world numbers and suggestions!

Last edited by ‘65_Corvair; 05-16-2024 at 08:44 AM. Reason: Forgot something
The following users liked this post:
Oliviabrandon361 (05-18-2024)
Old 05-16-2024, 04:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 321 Likes on 236 Posts

Sounds like a heck of a project.
Wish you nothing but success.
Old 05-16-2024, 05:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 510 Likes on 331 Posts

When I first saw this I was expecting an LS4 transverse install. A wheelie machine.

sounds like a great project.

sorry no cam input from me. Someone will chime in

Old 05-16-2024, 05:22 PM

Received 424 Likes on 323 Posts

The 243 heads are "cathedral" style.
You will need a much lower profile intake manifold than on your LQ4. An LS6 intake would be a good choice; since authentic ones are expensive, the Dorman LS6 replica might be a good choice.