Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

need some guidance for my conversion

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2003, 03:28 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need some guidance for my conversion

Hello everyone, Im new to the page. I am installing a 99 SS LS1 W/T56 tranny into a 1977 corvette. Currently I am dressing up the engine compartment after I pulled the tired 350 out of it. I have a few questions: Clutch pedals, should I try to fab the LS1 pedals I got with the engine or should I try to find a set of stock pedals?(it had an auto) Wiring: Do you all suggest I pay to have my wiring harness serviced for an easy install or is it possible to do it myself?(little experiance with wiring harnesses) and third, What about getting fuel to the engine? inline pump wit ajustable regulator? anyone have any suggestions? any help will be great? I am taking a ton of pics to post, so look for those in the future.

Thanks, Clay
Old 07-11-2003, 03:38 PM
Conversion master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: need some guidance for my conversion

Find yourself a set of C3 manual pedals. That way you can keep the original corvette look. The clutch master cylinder will just about bolt right up to the corvette's clutch pedal. I just picked up a small nylon spacer/ bushing and even used the original clip.

Do the wiring yourself. It is really not that hard, and since I did a 99 engine in my 70 corvette, I can help you with it.

I am running the stock 1970 tank with the feed on the bottom and the vent/return on the top. I picked up an inline Walbro 255LPH pump and mounted it to the frame rail on the passenger's side under the tank. In front of that is an off the shelf 99 Corvette fuel filter/ pressure regulator. A single fuel line then follows the old lines up the fuel rail.

If you have anymore questions, feel free to ask. Also check out my website.
Old 07-11-2003, 05:05 PM
Staging Lane