Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

diff issues....thoughts from the pro's?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2008, 11:11 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Default diff issues....thoughts from the pro's?

Alright,...was always told two heads are better then one....etc etc. Well... i'm trying to get some other ideas,..on my current situation,...of what I can do to get myself out of a jam. Think I know the answer but,..maybe some of you can think outside the box that my mind is currently stuck in.

Car: 00 FRC manual, twin turbo, 787rwhp 696 ft-lbs on 11psi and stock block internals. Various mods.

Coilover suspension and 335's with mini tubs.

Here's the story. We(i'm a gm technician) just installed a hardened output shaft in my stock 120,000 mile diff. Some metal came out on the magnet. Also found my clutch pack cone washer, had snapped in half, and clutch packs were all worn on left side.

We cleaned everything, installed NEW clutch packs, and hardened shaft,..with new fluid and GM additive. Went together easy. I drove it under mild load here and there but, it's been wet out so, I couldn't really romp on it. Then, last week, it was dry out so I ..in 1st gear, got on it.....everything is fine,...tires spinning.....go to hit second gear, quickly...and BANNNNGGGGGCLANK. Done.

I happened to be right by my dealership, and nursed it inside.

Dissasembled it. Found the right side bearing is toast....as a result, the debree, took out my ring and pinnion gears, as well as my right side cover.

Here is the good news.

My old gm teacher, had a spare 2,73 diff, that was given to him by a former student. It was taken apart, and nobody knew anything about the history of THAT diff.