Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

C5 Z06 short shifter question. Newbie.

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2012, 04:50 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C5 Z06 short shifter question. Newbie.

I just bought a used 2002 z06 2 days ago. So i am a newbie to the corvette thing, I traded my 01 SS in for it. Im sure I will be in here more often now.

Anyway it has a short shifter in it, Im not sure what kind. I pulled the boot back and shift **** off to see what kind it was. No markings found but after looking at pics online it looks like a MGW except the bracket that that attaches the upper rod to the lower is billet silver colored not like the black bracket on the MGW website. Is this an older design or a different brand?

Also since I have never driven a Z06 until I bought this, the shifter feels very short and can be difficult to find 1st and reverse. There is little to no play in netural so its hard to tell where its going, shifter feels tight. Not sure what to compare it to except the SS. Anyone else get this?
Old 01-08-2012, 06:11 PM
TECH Apprentice

I am not sure on what brand yours is but I have a Hurst. The top of the base is gold colored so it doesnt sound like yours. As far first and reverse I dont have any issues with mine. The shorter stick on the shifter did make it take more arm strength to shift versus the taller factory shifter though.
Old 01-08-2012, 07:57 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by Silver408z
I am not sure on what brand yours is but I have a Hurst. The top of the base is gold colored so it doesnt sound like yours. As far first and reverse I dont have any issues with mine. The shorter stick on the shifter did make it take more arm strength to shift versus the taller factory shifter though.