Florida Members Fun, sun and LS1's

thinking of moving to FL..

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2012, 07:41 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default thinking of moving to FL..

I dunno if this belongs here or in the lounge, so mods if you want to move it please do so.

Yall may or may not have seen my for sale threads lately on here. I'm parting out my hobbies and getting rid of excess cars, i kind of have it in my head to move to FL in 2013.

I've always lived in GA, but I've been a resident of west ATL for 6 years, and it's really wearing on me here. I'm 31, single, I own a home that's underwater, so if I move things will be tight as I'll have to rent this place out for a while.

ATL wears on me for a number of reasons, first and foremost being the traffic. My 31 mile commute takes me an hour and a half 1 way. When I DO get home my neighbor rides ATVs on his lot (1/2 are..) with an open header and the county has no laws about it, and the noise drives me up the wall. I've tried dating, but you find out that people who live "in atlanta" can be up to 4 hours away at the wrong time of the day. You can't show up for lunch with them or hang out on a friday night.. it becomes awkward and turns into a long distance relationship.

couple that with an.. unexpected.. change at work, and I may or may not have a job within 6-12 months anyway due to becoming redundant, so I'm sort of taking it as a kick in the pants ya know?

I guess my quesiton is to yall who call FL your home... I've spent a lot of time in Ormond beach area, really enjoyed it, port orange, new smyrna, all lots of fun. I work in IT tho, sort of an IT generalist/sys eng/sys admin, windows specializing though I do dabble in nix. Basically FL doesn't seem to have a big tech center, so i've wound up focusing on the Tampa area, with Daytona a close second.

Do yall think it's a good idea to move down there? What about the areas I've mentioned? Know anyone that needs an SA?