Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Advice for a 600rwhp turbo setup?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2004, 08:41 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Advice for a 600rwhp turbo setup? - RX7/LS1 hybrid

Hey,

Basically, I miss my old turbo setup. Nitrous is a lot of fun, but it doesn't compare to the feel and fun factor of a turbo. I'm still learning about ls1s and piston engines in general. They are definately a bit different than the rotaries I'm used to building and blowing up.

I have a few ideas, but really need a lot of direction. I'm looking to make around 600rwhp and need advice from those of you who have done it. Obviously since the ls1 is in my rx-7, a custom kit will be fabbed.I just pulled the engine on saturday with plans to prepare it for boost.

Here's what I'm thinking.

A set of low compression forged pistons, arp rod bolts, and stock rods. From what I've read the stock rods appear to be strong enough. Anyone else have a different opinion?

I'm thinking about maybe a t-66 if I have room. Any advise here?

Are there any limitations with ls1edit that I should be aware of? How much boost will the stock map sensor read? I'm assuming 14psi or so.

How much boost will it take to reach around 600rwhp?

The car currently weighs in at 2700lbs with half a tank of gas. I'm planning to add a roll bar along with the turbo setup. Hopefully the end result will be 2900lbs at most.