Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Go to dark side? D1 for Turbos?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2016, 07:22 PM
On The Tree

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Go to dark side? D1 for Turbos?

I'm building a 96 Impala SS that just never seems to get done. It has been under the knife for about 7 years and has seen multiple hardships including tough financial times when I worked as a mechanic/welder, losses of girlfriends because apparently it's not good to buy yourself car parts for their birthday and all out insanity like me compounding/buffing/waxing the chassis when I had no money to do anything else to it.

Anyway, I am much more financially stable now, and with three day weekends every other week I have enough time to finally finish this frame off journey. Here is what I have so far:

396cid 9:1 LT1, Eagle forged bottom end
AI 200CC F body heads and .23x/24x lift .600 lift cam
Cahall pro race 4l60e with billet output shaft
Vigilante 9.5" converter
3.73 rear with Moser axles/Eaton 400# posi
KORE 3 C5/6 brakes all around
Boxed and notched frame, 335/35/17's out back.
Aeromotive Phantom Flex 450lph fuel system
LTCC coil pack conversion
1 7/8ths Clear Image Automotive Pro Race headers w/tubular crossmember
and countless suspension mods

I also have a D1SC procharger and bracket which I was going to weld up piping for.

I'm at the point where I am ready to finish the motor, drop it in the car and get this baby going when I got a crazy thought. Originally I wanted this car to be an all out street monster built for driving to the local spots and doing things (in mexico) that I shall no longer speak of. Now I'm older, smarter, a police officer and more of a *****, so building something comfortable/fun to drive/not as obnoxious but also stupid fast for legal-only track days seems like a better plan. That's where the thought of turbos came into play.

My big questions are: