Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Staggered turbo setup

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2017, 05:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Staggered turbo setup

Okay so I'm fairly new to this all but have definitely looked into building an iron block 5.3 once or twice, the application would be for a prerunner truck so I'm trying to think of a way to beat eliminate turbo lag but still keeping high hp numbers. Has anyone ever tried a twin turbo with one small and one large turbo? I know this idea is implemented in newer more modern cars these days and I'm just really curious if it's an option for this engine because I would definitely be interested in that route. The engine itself will be built with forged internals and all those goodies. 😁
Old 07-05-2017, 06:02 PM
8 Second Club

Received 120 Likes on 89 Posts

It's called compound...

And is absolutely pointless at typical low PRs of an Ls
Old 07-05-2017, 06:07 PM
TECH Addict

Received 475 Likes on 365 Posts

A decently put together system, is not going to have significant "lag" these days, a good ball bearing turbo sized for the power band you require, should hit hard enough to scare your ancestors.. Defintalely in the "hold my beer and watch this" zone.

Most N/A pre-runner tucks with V8's are already in the 600+ HP range,, gotta believe 8 or 9 hundred should "do ya" You don't mention the specifics of what you want so we are all throwing darts.. just to see what sticks..
Old 07-05-2017, 07:23 PM
10 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Yea thats what I was going to say. A decent setup twin turbo setup is going to make more torque then you could ask for... My single setup makes all the torque I could ever need...
Old 07-05-2017, 08:11 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 432 Likes on 307 Posts

There are people spooling 50+ psi off the two step with compound turbos. I don't see any possible need to do that on a 5.3L motor unless you are talking diesel tractor pull competitions.