Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

What options do CA users have?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2005, 10:54 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What options do CA users have?

I live in California and I have a 78 camaro, its coming time to rebuild ( original mileage 350, 160k miles on it heh ). I was looking to one day put it an LS1 because its a daily driver and 10-15 mpg is pissing me off. My question is what type of forced induction will pass CA emissions? I think the vortech blowers have a CARB ( california air resource board ) number, is there anything else?
Old 06-01-2005, 11:52 PM
11 Second Club

My P1 has a CARB number on it.
Old 06-02-2005, 12:04 AM
On The Tree

Sorry I am pretty new to ls1 engines, whats that exactly?
Old 06-02-2005, 12:08 AM
11 Second Club

ATI Procharger
Old 06-02-2005, 12:14 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You will quickly learn that many people on here have ways around the emmisions laws.
Old 06-02-2005, 01:09 AM
On The Tree

Oh hell I dont have cats on my car, I pay someone to pass it. Generally though, I dont want to have to rely on that for my life, and would honestly like to make some good smog legal streeting power without spending a few thousand dollars on something I have to remove. Cats? Can weld em in an out at a shop. Supercharger? Looks a little harder... I mean hey, if youre going to spend a few thousand, might as well get the CA emissions friendly version right? I wanted a supercharger because it looks great for the street, and I just love those videos of the mustang whine... I definetly want one that whines. I was looking at those centrifugal blowers on these boards people are making ( because I have a 2 3/4 inch cowl on my camaro ), but I dont feel like spending $5k on a kit, id rather buy a cheap blower and fab my own. If I buy the $1600 vortech blower without the whole kit, It would still pass emissions right?
Old 06-02-2005, 03:17 AM
Teching In