Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Fuel Ratio Question ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2003, 06:06 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Fuel Ratio Question ?

I was at the track tues night and found that I was running 11.6 for the fuel ratio. Is that to lean for the LS1 or is that right in the sweet spot?

I thought it was low but I am new to the LS1 fuel workings
Old 08-15-2003, 06:47 AM
12 Second Club

Default Re: Fuel Ratio Question ?

My car is stock except for a catback, and my dynosheet shows about a 12:1 air fuel ratio from 4000 to 6000 on the better of my two runs. I think 11.6:1 is fine, its safer to be a bit rich than lean, and 11.6 is not lean, but some forced induction guys or nitrous guys might choose run a bit richer than 11.6, but that is probably for safety concerns.
Old 08-15-2003, 08:41 AM
TECH Fanatic

At WOT you should see high 12's to low 13's for optimum performance. You are waaayyyy to rich. On a scanner that would show up as high 800mV's to low 900mV's (.890mV - .920mV)

That would be more in the range for a forced induction car.
Old 08-15-2003, 09:54 AM
TECH Apprentice

So I am rich not lean. On the intake side I have a Direct Flow lid and I port polished and filled the TB, so if I were to port the MAF ends would I run a bit leaner and maybe put me back where I should be? I heard when the MAF end are ported on a 02 it will run lean is that true also?
Old 08-15-2003, 10:36 AM
On The Tree

I had my 02 SS tuned on a dyno. F/A ratio was about 11.5. Its now 12.5. Gained 13 rw/hp after tune up.
Old 08-15-2003, 11:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

So I am rich not lean. On the intake side I have a Direct Flow lid and I port polished and filled the TB, so if I were to port the MAF ends would I run a bit leaner and maybe put me back where I should be? I heard when the MAF end are ported on a 02 it will run lean is that true also?
For A/F ratio, optimum "Stoichiometric" is 14.7:1