Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

Loud hissing from top half. Fuel injectors?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2010, 05:15 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Loud hissing from top half. Fuel injectors?

I am still a newbie so please bare with me fellas. I did do a few searches but did not find anything that specifically answered my questions.

I have a 97 LT1 SS and have come across a loud hissing sound which seems to be coming from the top half. The car has been mildly sputtering in slow accelerations, like in parking lots and stop lights.

At first i thought i had a bad vacuum leak. So i checked the lines for cracks and sprayed some of them with WD40, hoping to find the leak, but found nothing.

The hissing sound seems to be coming from the intake somewhere, more so on the driver side than the passenger.

The Check Engine Light IS lit up, but always is since the previous owner chopped off the exhaust, so the O2 Sensors are constantly confused and the Check Engine Light just stays lit. Since its Saturday i have not had a chance to take the car to my mechanic to run the codes, which i know would help..lol.

But from what i am describing here, does it sound like i have a bad Injector?
Old 09-20-2010, 02:15 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Sounds like intake manifold vacuum leak, not an injector problem
Old 09-20-2010, 03:34 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by FrankSS
Sounds like intake manifold vacuum leak, not an injector problem
Thanks for the reply Frank. So if that is the case, where or what would most likely be leaking? Intake seal, intake cracked even? Is that a common LT1 issue that you know of? I will do a few searches and see what comes up.
Old 09-21-2010, 04:38 AM
12 Second Club

there is an EGR valve on the back of the intake that could be leaking... or a gasket on it or between the intake and heads. try spraying carb cleaner to find the leak...
Old 09-22-2010, 03:09 PM
Launching!