Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Unsure of noise I'm hearing from rear

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 10:44 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Unsure of noise I'm hearing from rear

Preface: I am a total newb when it comes to rearends. That being said,I've got a 99 WS.6 T/A with 3.73 rear end. I know this because my speedo is off and had the local Pontiac dealer check it out and they let me know. The guy who owned the car before me put em in along with a few other performance upgrades. I don't know if it's a 9,12 20 whatever bolt deal,no clue. Car has 40k miles on it,just rolled it tonight. The noise I'm hearing is def from the rear of the car,almost sounding as if it's coming from the transmission tunnel between the rear seat area. The most noticeable noise is hard to explain,but sounds like very solid gears rolling against each other. And I get a hard to notice whine occassionally. I say hard to notice due to the fact I wasn't even the one who noticed it,but a friend who rode with me and said 'is that your rear end?'. I was like is what my rear end? He said that whine. Obviously it isn't as loud as a wheel bearing whine that you can DEFINATELY notice. And neither is it constant. In town it's more the gear against gear noise. At higher speeds I can hear a whine on occasion but it definately isn't a HEY,HEAR THIS! type noise,but blends in with other road noises. I'm going to take it in tomm and have it checked for low fluid and hoping/praying that's all it is.
In a 'worse case' scenario where the rear is gone/going, how much does this usually cost to repair? I don't race, I do 'get on it' every now and again but don't get crazy (it's a automatic with what I believe to be a shift kit in it).
Old 06-24-2010, 05:27 PM
Teching In