Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

01 WS6 differential mods help?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2011, 01:46 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 01 WS6 differential mods help?!?!

My 01 WS6 is an M6 with full exhaust,ls7 clutch,pro 5.0,and the usuall mods, lid,p/p T/B etc...I want to do as much as I can to strentghen the rear end since I've had 3 of the 4 L/S bolts that hold the torsion2 unit on come out all at different times and finally breaks the bolt off. I changed all 4 with grade 8 bolts and rebuilt the whole LSD a few months ago and its been great finally...I'm a laid off welder and havnt had money to mod for a long time, but just recently got a mig welder and I want to start making mods. I want to weld the axles tubes, but also was wondering about fabbing axles and maybe the whole carrier/housing from a 03-07ish Z71 truck. I just helped a friend rebuild his 04 Z71 and noticed the rear was 8.6'' and he had monster axles compaired to mine. I am so broke I would rather fab the spines from my axle to a 8.6'' axle if its possible instead of paying $300 for mosiers because IMO its a waste to spend over $300 to strentghen a 7.5/7.625 rear because they just arent strong. Would I be able to fab 8.6'' truck axles to work with my 7.625'' and is it worth it? I could do it for around $75. Also is there anyway to install the 8.6'' ring/pinion? The easiest way would be to take the entire truck assembly and shorten the axles/tubes and then I'd have stronger ring,pinion,axles...right?..I dont care how much time it takes, I havnt been able to mod my car for 2 yrs, its all about $ and what if anything can be made stronger with under $100. IT SUCKS. I run street tires and run 12.90-13.0's@110mph with launching from idle, and have ran 12.49@112mph with DR's and 3500 launch, just incase that matters.
Old 01-12-2011, 01:39 AM
On The Tree