General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Are these hp too low??

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2013 | 11:05 PM
Teching In

Default Are these hp too low??

I am new to the LS world and I have acquired a RX7 with a ls6 in it. Here are the specs for the build that he gave me.

LS6 block NEW Stroked to 383ci
Wiseco Piston set
Eagle H-beam rods w/ ARP rod bolts
Callies Compstar Crankshaft
ARP main stud kit

Trick Flow GEN X heads
Trick Flow Cam .585in/.585in lift
Trick Flow Roller Rockers

( I am pretty sure this whole set is this http://www.summitracing.com/parts/tf...make/chevrolet )

Fast 92mm intake manifold
92mm Throtle body
42lb injectors
Twin Walbro fuel pumps
NOS 125 wet shot (dyno tune auto bottle heater NIB)
Hinson supercars headers W 3.5in exhaust
LS7 clutch
LS7 aluminum flywheel
T56 6 Speed Trans
Hinson super cars aluminum drive shaft
Hinson super cars LS V8 mounting kit
Hinson super cars aluminum radiatior

After I drove it for awhile my butt dyno had told me it was making at least 500hp. I was not sure if he had ever had it properly tuned (even though he said the engine was built at texas speed). So i went and got it tuned. The kicker is that it was only showing 425rwhp and 420 torque. Are these figures correct? I thought that after the head and cam swap that these engines really opened up? I read the application for the Summit racing part (see red above) and it says its for LS1, but the liters are the same. Will that make a difference? FWIW I didn't buy these upgrades, but I am a little ashamed of the meager output they gave me. I will probably be pulling the NO2 out and going Pro-Charger to raise them up
Old 08-10-2013 | 11:28 PM
TECH Senior Member

Mustang dyno or Dynojet dyno? Actually it really doesn't matter..i've personally seen dynos vary quite a bit. Run it at the strip...the trap speed will be the true indicator
Old 08-11-2013 | 04:58 AM
TECH Enthusiast