General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Hydrolocked Engine. Need some sage advice please!

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 11:54 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Hydrolocked Engine. Need some sage advice please!

I'll try to keep this short and on point. Drove through a huge puddle at night and hydrolocked the engine. Car had comprehensive insurance on it, so this was/is covered.

Insurance took the car in to inspect about two weeks after the incident had occurred. They actually towed it about two days after, but only inspected visually at that time. The engine wasn't checked until 11/7 (hydrolock occurred 10/22).

All they did (on 11/7) was "remove spark plugs to check for fluid in cylinders, engine still will not turn. internal engine damage." I spoke with the guy at the dealership that pulled the plugs and he said they found no water!

Here is where I need some help. I am not an engine expert but know a little bit. From what I do know it seems like a pretty big leap to make from pulling the plugs and trying to crank over the engine to concluding that this was not caused by water. It seems like they did the bare minimum, perfunctory, check didn't find water and automatically concluded that this couldn't have been caused by water. Am I wrong in making this statement? If I am please do tell me.

However, if I am correct in assuming this, what other checks should I ask the insurance company to perform? What probing questions about the engine should I ask to demonstrate to them that I know that they didn't do everything necessary to demonstrate that this engine seizure was not in fact caused by water?

I KNOW that this was caused by water, there is no doubt that it could have been anything else. I am 100% certain! Now, how do I go about demonstrating this to the insurance company?

Please help!!
Old 11-10-2011, 05:13 PM
TECH Enthusiast