General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Bad Ball Joint?????

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2006, 11:38 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad Ball Joint?????

I've had a little bit (really small amount) of slop in the front right suspension for a couple weeks now. Lately its developed a slight vibration at anything above 55mph and the outside of the FR tire is wearing a lot faster than the rest. I'm no suspension expert so I'm trying to figure out if this sounds like a bad ball joint. Also, does anyone know the average cost to have a shop replace either one or all of the ball joints? Thanks a lot.
Old 07-29-2006, 02:45 PM
TECH Fanatic

Curious about this as well, think I have the same problem. I also get a clunk when I park and come to a stop with the wheel turned a bit.
Old 07-29-2006, 02:55 PM
Teching In

If your gonna change one i would change the other. Take a look at your ball joints and see how they look, if there as bad as you say you should be able too move them with your hand, or twist them. Call a few local shops and see what they would charge, Its an easy fix i would reccomend just doing it your self.
might also wanna look into an alighnment.
J
Old 07-29-2006, 02:58 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by sunsetorangessls1
Its an easy fix i would reccomend just doing it your self.
Don't they have to be pressed in and out?
Old 07-29-2006, 03:06 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

They can be a pain to do, but they can be done by yourself. I ended up waiting for a set of Moog Heavy duty Lower Ball joints to come in, and got impatient so I went to a local GM dealer and got some stock ones and changed them out in about 2 hours or so.

Coincidentally I have the Moogs now still in their original wrapping I will sell for $55 shipped if you are interested.
Old 07-29-2006, 03:08 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by CALL911