Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gonna modify cutouts... Anyone try this?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2005, 01:39 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gonna modify cutouts... Anyone try this?

I'm thinking if restricting my cutouts for daily driving. I have a chokemaster muffler and got the cutout for increased flow, but it's too loud (and too many rattles) for day to day driving. My car has been lowered two inches, so going under and putting the cap on and off is a bit of a chore.

I'm thinking of cutting out a restricted plate that will reduce the sound but still give me increased flow by blocking off half the output of the cutout. So, i'd have a semi-circle, instead of a full circle.

Another idea i had was to use place washers under the plate that will space the plate and the outlet by about 1 centimeter on all sides.

Anyone ever try this, and did it work?
Old 08-08-2005, 01:53 AM
Launching!

Default hmm

your idea sounds similar to the Borla exhaust design..( restrictor plates ). after all its about the same thing.. go for it and let me know who it sounds. =)
Old 08-08-2005, 06:37 AM
TECH Addict

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

It will still be loud, and raspy
Old 08-08-2005, 08:31 AM
TECH Enthusiast

it will still sound bad. I say just get rid of the Flowmaster and get a borla XR-1
Old 08-08-2005, 08:44 AM
TECH Addict

I did the washer thing a week ago. I put three washers on each and screwed on the cutout plate and it sounded better. You can adjust it however tight you want.
Old 08-08-2005, 09:19 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I made restrictor plates and they all sounded horrible. Kind of like a rattley exhaust leak. I tried using several size holes and none of them sounded as good as an open cutout.
Old 08-08-2005, 10:36 AM
Staging Lane